A New Mommy

Recently, I read an article in the Huffington Post about not stressing over creating a perfect childhood for my kiddos. (Real article here)
I didn’t realise how much I had fallen prey to all the Buzzfeed-worthy lists of how to make your children’s birthdays and holidays and every single day the most amazing and incredible that it can be! I spent way too much time looking for those things and not enough actually enjoying my children.
It really came to me when I noticed my husband. It doesn’t matter what time of day it is… Whether he’s putting them to bed, giving them a bath, or just reading them stories… He is so engaged. He pays attention to how they react and takes every moment to teach something. He is the most amazing daddy.
I am striving to be more like that. To take the time to know my kids. It gets hard, especially since I am home much more than Hubby and things start to get monotonous. But, instead of trying so hard to make their childhood perfect, I’m going to just be there.
There’s a New Year’s Resolution, while my children are young enough to need and want to play with me…that’s what I’m going to do!

Leave a Reply

