A Tale of Two Cities

Wow, just wow. What an amazing story. So intense, it so accurately portrayed (or at least I’m assuming) the horrifying reality of that time. It was interesting that I found myself rooting for people that I later wanted to just be stopped. I don’t know how else the bourgeoisie could have been overthrown, they were so out of control. But, once the peasants got the taste for blood, they just didn’t stop. They started hewing down anyone in their path, or on the side of the path, or remotely close… One of the young women on her way to Madame le Guillotine was just a seamstress. She didn’t know what she had done wrong, she was in no way rich. What happened to all of them is horrible. How the peasants were treated was atrocious, a man’s child was run over in the street, and the party responsible just tossed him some money. However, killing them all isn’t exactly justice… it’s seems more like insanity. Which was so obviously displayed in Madame Defarge. Her family was so mistreated that she was hardened into a killing machine. It was so gritty and real, it was such an amazing story.

Very hard language to get into, since I had just finished Orson Scott Card, which is brilliantly written but easy. But, I’m so glad I did. I’ve only read one or two of Charles Dickens, but I always thoroughly enjoy him. I would definitely recommend to anyone who has not read it! This checks off my “Book I should have read in High School” box on my reading list!

3 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Cities

  1. Loved this! I reread this one during winter break and it’s just as good as it was the first time. Thanks for sharing! If you’re ever interested in some great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

