Phantastes

About a week ago I finished reading ‘Phantastes’ by George MacDonald.

Very interesting… pretty weird. I enjoyed his writing style. He painted a picture so perfectly that I was transported into his world. It was all so beautiful and interesting.

However, I was not a fan of everything staying unexplained. I like a little mystery. I like intrigue and figuring out how everything is going to play out in my head. I even like when I am completely proven wrong by the author. I don’t like when nothing is explained. I honestly have no idea what happened at the end.

All in all, it was an interesting read and made me want to visit Fairy Land. Not exactly my taste, and I don’t know if I would recommend.

On my list, I put this under books my mom loves… which is wrong. My mom loves George MacDonald, and so I am now reading Sir Gibbie which she really did love.

Leave a Reply

