Meal Planning with Pinterest

So, I’ve been meaning to make a post about this for a while. I use Pinterest in my meal planning! Like, really use it. I don’t just pin recipes I would like to try (which I do all the time) but I pin recipes into a board specifically made for my two-week meal plan. Hubby gets paid about every two weeks, so that’s what I plan for! I occasionally put off some produce shopping until the second week so it is all fresh, but everything else is usually inventoried, bought and prepared at the beginning of each pay period.

Anyway, back to my subject. Hubby and I had started a low-carb diet, and doing that discovered that he is sensitive to gluten. Sensitive enough that he would like to avoid it as much as possible. That being said, recipes were a little hard to find when I tended to fall back on old reliable’s such as pasta, bread, and potatoes. Then I finally looked at my Recipes to Try board on Pinterest, and noticed there were a lot of low-carb & gluten-free meals that I hadn’t looked at since pinning them forever ago. Just searching for low-carb recipes brought up so many ideas I had never thought of. I decided that most of my recipe books would be put away for a time, and I would experiment with brand new ideas.

Thus began my bi-weekly meal plan Pinterest boards! Here is the board I made for these next couple weeks. Not everything I will be making is in this board since if we love it and want to keep it in the rotation, I usually make a recipe card for it. I have a separate board for Recipes to Try as well as Tried Recipes where I organize what I want to try, as well aswhat I have tried and want to keep.

Because of this, we almost never eat the same thing twice, unless we really love it! I love the different meals I am able to try, and the challenges I am able to overcome. I never thought of myself as a good cook, but I’m having a lot of fun with it now!

Do you have a meal planning method that works for you? Everyone is different!

Leave a Reply

