Day 7

Day 7: Your views on religion.

Ah, this can be a touchy subject. Controversial, and even a bit confusing at times. I am having a hard time coming up with an answer. Although I have told you all my view on God, I don’t know that I necessarily call what I have a “religion.” Religion brings up bad visuals ranging from Bible-thumping maniacs picketing soldier’s funerals to untrustworthy heads of churches or temples to suicide bombers. It’s unfortunate but also true that “religion” can often turn people away from the Truth.

I don’t think religion was invented to be such a ‘bad word.’ I remember as a kid wondering if I could be able to remember all the sins I couldn’t commit. I think religion was started to help people stay organized (for lack of a better phrase). When you have a set list of rules to follow, it can be easy to just refer back to the list if something comes up. Of course, the original list was the Ten Commandments. However, there are certain intricacies that aren’t literal. For instance, “Anyone who hates a brother or sister is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life residing in him.” 1 John 3:15. I don’t think when we read “Thou shalt not murder they neighbor” we thought that it included hating as well. Religion might have been a way to just make it clearer and include everything. Yet, when it comes to this list of rules, there is one major flaw.

Humans are sinful. We are, we are terribly flawed and cannot hope to live up to the incredibly literal Ten Commandments, let alone everything they involve. The reason I don’t think I am ‘religious’ is because I believe in the One that makes it all worth it. With pure religion, t9-3-15 (2)here is a distinct hopelessness that can go two ways. Either I can never live up to everything that is expected of me so why even try, or I just have to keep trying and trying and eventually I might get there… hopefully before I die. I have faith in Jesus. I know that He died for me, and for everyone who believes He did. He has made all the hopelessness disappear and replaced it with Heaven.

And that is my view on religion. Possibly a failed experiment, but it can also be used to bring people to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

